Praxis Middle School Math 0069.....

Discussion in 'Single Subject Tests' started by bamafan, May 15, 2006.

1. bamafan

bamafan Rookie

May 15, 2006

Hello everyone! I am interested in finding out more information about the middle school math Praxis. I am a history teacher in Alabama who is decent at Algebra related math. The state is allowing teachers to take the Praxis in order to add extra endorsements to our certificate so I thought I would take the test. I am signed up for the June 10 administration. ANybody ever taken this test? Do you think someone who is not necessarily a "math" teacher could pass it? Thanks for any help.

3. Malcolm

Malcolm Enthusiast

May 15, 2006

No experience with the exam you want to take. But I can tell you that if you are comfortable with the level of math on the exam (and middle school math is not particularly demanding) and do the appropriate preparation I am sure you can pass. That is what I did with CSET Math which is required to teach math in California if you have not completed an approved math program. My major was business.

4. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

May 16, 2006

This is, I believe, Praxis 20069. The Tests at a Glance document (http://www.ets.org/Media/Tests/PRAXIS/pdf/0069.pdf) might be worth a look, if you haven't checked it out already. The math doesn't look that challenging, and I should hasten to point out that I am no math major. Do take a look for yourself, though. And as you study, do feel free to post your questions on the material here. You may also find some of the CSET Math single subject posts useful.

5. JaimeMarie

JaimeMarie Moderator

May 27, 2006

I was just coming on here to post a similair question. Thanks TG I could not figure out which test I would need to take for middle school math.

6. ~Teacher~

~Teacher~ Rookie

Jun 2, 2006

I now have to take this test too this summer! Any suggestions would be helpful!!

7. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Jun 2, 2006