Praxis 5001 - took and passed! Thoughts and tips

Discussion in 'Multiple Subject Tests' started by ladybee4, Feb 19, 2017.

1. ladybee4

ladybee4 Rookie

Feb 19, 2017

Hey!

I took the Praxis 5001 yesterday and much to my surprise appear to have passed all four sections. Thought I would share thoughts and tips in case it can help anyone. I am generally not a good test taker and have been out of school/work for over 12 years raising kids.

Had a month to study for the test. I freaked out midway through the month when I realized how tough the tests would be. Basically gave up studying after that. I studied social studies for 1.5-2w about an hour a day, and LA very briefly. I did not study math or science at all. I did take the praxis math core last year though, so some of that knowledge was still in my head. I took the RVE (reading for VA educators) last month, and gained reading/la knowledge studying for that test. I figured if I was lucky I could MAYBE pass one or two sections in in the first go, and take the individual tests later on. I did purchase this study guide on Amazon, but only got around to studying 1/3 of the book (all the SS!).
    Praxis II Elementary Educations (5001) by Mometrix (yellow and black book with "SECRETS" on cover

The study guide is laid out very well. The videos on youtube (type in Mometrix and a subject) were invaluable! I am a visual learner and these REALLY help. I would listen to the SS/history when driving the kids around. The girl who does SS is my favorite and though her videos are wordy, they were a discussion and helped me remember so much.

My exit scores were LA - 169, Math - 165, SS - 163, Science - 173 (needed 157, 157, 155, 159 to pass)