Power teaching questions

Discussion in 'Behavior Management' started by gumbita, Aug 15, 2008.

1. gumbita

gumbita Rookie

Aug 15, 2008

I just discovered the power teaching method last night, and it sounds intriguing. I teach pretty rough high schoolers so I am wondering if anybody uses this with high school and any suggestions they have to make it work and get my real and wannabe gangsters to buy into it.

My second question is about the "scoreboard". Say I start this with "Class-yes" on the first day - obviously they won't have homework on the first day - we'll probably barely get through classroom procedures and the syllabus, and I imagine as the year goes by the students would get bored of "playing" for less homework. The only other reward I could think of would be a couple minutes of "free time" at the end of class. Any other suggestions? Thanks!!

3. PowerTeacher

PowerTeacher Comrade

Aug 15, 2008

Check out my website on how to become Power Teacher. I am a Power Teacher Trainer, and use the method with middle schoolers, and college history students.

One way to bring in older learners is to explain exactly why you are using Power Teaching (teaching to all three senses at once) and I can give you more details if you like.

The scoreboard game can be used for a lot of different things. One favorite is free time. My kids get one minute of free time each day they win the game. We bank them and they cash in Friday afternoon.

Any more questions? I will be glad to help.

4. Mrs. K.

Mrs. K. Enthusiast

Aug 16, 2008

Regarding the homework on the first day - normally, I wouldn't give any, but because I want to introduce the scoreboard, I'm just going to post "homework" and keep score. Then I'll assign them to summarize what we did in class in that many sentences. I figured that would be easy and would give me an idea of who will actually do homework for me.

5. am elisheva

am elisheva Rookie

Aug 17, 2008