Papers and papers and more papers.....oh, look...more papers....

Discussion in 'General Education' started by FourSquare, Mar 1, 2011.

1. FourSquare

FourSquare Fanatic

Mar 1, 2011

Can you please tell me your organizational system for papers in general? Even as a student teacher, I am struggling with crap piles. I feel like I'm doomed for next year if I don't figure out a system quick. Between student work (homework, exit tickets, assessments, small group, etc.), nurse forms, IEP forms, PTA handouts, grad school work, lunch forms, family correspondence, lesson materials, and whatever else, I am totally overwhelmed with paper! How can I make sure everything has a place? :dizzy:

3. monsieurteacher

monsieurteacher Aficionado

Mar 1, 2011

Ok... here's my system... I know it doesn't work for everyone, but I like it.

I have a four drawer filing cabinet next to my desk. In each drawer, I have a thingie that will hold hanging folders.

In my top drawer, I have a hanging folder for each student, sorted alphabetically. This is where I keep any assessments, SEPs (our version of the IEP), detention slips, family correspondence... anything specific to the child. In the second drawer, I have hanging folders for all sorts of things... I have one for my personal coursework, one for staff meeting notes, one for memos... you get the picture.

In the third drawer, I keep lesson ideas... particularly based on themes. I don't use this very often right now, but I do like to store copies away there for future use... particularly for special events.

The fourth drawer is where I keep a lot of my extra stuff... folders go there, but also anything I can't really find a place for, tends to go in my bottom drawer (it sounds worse than it is... I have a place for most things in my room).