Overwhelmed

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by pwhatley, Oct 8, 2013.

1. pwhatley

pwhatley Maven

Oct 8, 2013

Scuse the length and free-form style... I'm just letting my frustrations out, lol.

As many of you know, this is my first year teaching 3rd after 5 years teaching 1st. There are truly some things that I LOVE:
    • the kiddos are so much more independent, but still lovable
    • they actually recognize grammar mistakes in a sentence/paragraph
    • Even my lowest (who are considered non-readers and have comprehension problems) are still reading something
    • writing is so much more fun
    • the stories are much more interesting than Sam the Cat, lol
    • the kids have a working understanding of what good students do (even if they don't do it)
    • they can tie their own shoes and buckle their own belts

Even with all that, I feel as if I am slogging through mud that is rapidly becoming quicksand.

• My school was designated as AU this year (by three points). We have district and state observors all the time, and my P is in a real pressure cooker.
    • Literally half of our 3rd graders had very little instruction last year due to a personnel problem (the personnel who was the problem is no longer with us)
    • Some of the CCSS goals, especially in math (and even more especially in the order in which my district wants them taught) are developmentally inappropriate
    • Every time I think that the district can't pile any more on us, they add more! We now have THREE different benchmark systems we have to administer (and progress monitor) - 2 each for reading/math, plus dibels, and they want WEEKLY pms for SPED and potential SPED kiddos
    • NOTHING any of us do is right - either the P has issues or suggestions, or the Coordinator does, or the observers find us lacking