Organizing School Halloween Parade

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by RMM, Sep 23, 2007.

1. RMM

RMM Rookie

Sep 23, 2007

It's my first year teaching and somehow I wound up in charge of organizing the school's Halloween Parade! I thought it would be easy - just take the previous year's plan and spruce it up. Then, I found out this is the first year the school will do a parade, so there is no format to copy! If anyone has ever organized something like this before, please let me know! I need some quick help getting started! Thanks in advance!

-RMM

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Sep 24, 2007

I can't give you any ideas. I just wanted to wish you luck in this. It's hard being a first year teacher and then have something like this dumped on your lap.

4. LAH2

LAH2 Companion

Sep 24, 2007

A Halloween parade shouldn't be too hard. On Halloween we have a shortened school day. The kids leave at 12:30 (or stay in the all purpose room if they can't go home) and then come back at 1:25 with their costumes on. At 1:30 we start our parade and basically we just march around the school in a long line starting with kindergarten and going all the way up to eighth grade (my school is K-8). The first person in each class holds a sign to show the teacher's name. The parents all stand around outside to watch the parade. If you have it outside though just make sure you have a backup plan in case it rains. After our parade we go back to our classrooms and our class moms put together a small party for each class. Good luck!

5. patti2

patti2 Cohort

Sep 24, 2007

Ours is kind of fun. After everyone is ready we sit in a huge circle inside or outside. Just like the above poster, each class takes a turn, but we play fun songs like "Monster Mash". At the end they call in categories....funny, scary, spooky, etc. That way every kid gets to do something more than once. The teachers always dress in a theme and do something silly at the end together.

6. azteacher3