Not sure if I want to work in Early Childhood Ed or Elementary Ed

Discussion in 'General Education' started by TeacherCuriousExplore, Aug 8, 2018 at 8:41 PM.

1. TeacherCuriousExplore

TeacherCuriousExplore Cohort

Aug 8, 2018 at 8:41 PM

I have been working in Early Childhood Ed since I graduated high school. I am certified in the area and enjoy working with 3-5-year-olds. I am currently pursuing a MEd from GCU as well obtaining teacher certs in K-5. I am stuck in a limbo because I love ECE but it sucks with pay and is a major burn out. Public schools and most private schools are very professional. Teachers have bonuses, benefits, paid time off during the summer months, room for growth, and teacher collaboration. In small private preschools, there is a failure of funding, teachers who are sometimes not educated, and no one takes the job seriously. Then there are some preschools that are just right and funded perfectly, but these are often corporate preschools or government-funded preschools. Despite the negatives of ECE I enjoy it! I also enjoy Elementary Ed, but just like ECE it also has, it's problems as well. Such bureaucracy, paperwork, and not getting support from principals or school board officials. Which should I choose? I was thinking that maybe I can go back and forth. If I get tired of Elem Ed then I will go to ECE or vice versa. Anyone here ever had this issue?

3. svassillion

svassillion Companion

Aug 8, 2018 at 9:39 PM

I went to school for ECE and only afterwards while subbing did I realize I enjoyed elementary as well. I ended up getting both licenses then went where the job market lead me which was public kindergarten (ECE is preK-2 in my state, 1-6 is elementary). I'm going into my 5th year and still enjoying the young ones, but I figure if that ever changes I can just ask for a grade change if I maintain the license.

4. TeacherCuriousExplore

TeacherCuriousExplore Cohort

Aug 8, 2018 at 9:42 PM