Non-renewal Worries

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by macncheese73, Feb 20, 2019.

1. macncheese73

macncheese73 New Member

Feb 20, 2019

I'm a first-year teacher and I feel nervous about my chances of being rehired. At my mid-year, my administrator said she was undecided between reappointment or conditional reappointment, and that if I were to completely plateau or decline instead of continuing to show growth, she may even decide on "do not reappoint." I scored effective in most of the evaluation categories, but I also scored developing in a few others and that tipped me over to being rated as developing overall. My principal has been in my room several times over the past few days and occasionally has stepped in to give directions, model something to the students, etc. However, yesterday my class was totally out of control during the last period- about half of the students ignored me and did whatever they wanted (talking, shouting, running around, etc.). At last I finally gave up on my planned lesson and directed the students to read the textbook silently and jot/draw notes at their desks. Once I told them to do that, they were finally quiet (with 20 minutes remaining in our day) and then my principal walked in again. She did say they were doing "meaningful work" (reading the textbook and note-taking), but still...that's NOT the engaging, collaborative learning environment I had planned for and wanted to have in the afternoon. It was humiliating.