No replies to numerous applications/ interview requests in Northern VA. Advice?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by buttercup26, May 21, 2018.

1. buttercup26

buttercup26 Rookie

May 21, 2018

Hello all!
    I just completed my master's degree in Early Childhood Education. However, I am seeking employment on a provisional license, because I was not able to complete my student teaching. I have applied to many, many schools in Fairfax County and Prince William, but I have not gotten a single reply. A few of the jobs have been filled, but many have been up for months.
    Do these schools do most of their hiring over the summer? Or could my issue be that provisionals are difficult to obtain? Something else?
    ANY advice would be greatly appreciated. I am so passionate about teaching and I want nothing more than to get my career started!

3. CherryOak

CherryOak Companion

May 21, 2018

I'm not an expert. But... Provisionals' opportunities usually kick in late in the season after the fully endorsed crowd is investigated. Plus, many of those counties have only passed their budget a month ago or less. I believe things will heat up more after SOL season. Hang in there!

pommom likes this.
  4. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

May 21, 2018

Why were you unable to complete your ST? Remember you are competing against many other candidatesvwho have full license in hand/experience.

Last edited: May 21, 2018
    futuremathsprof and pommom like this.
  5. pommom

pommom Comrade

May 21, 2018

I didn't do student teaching, and I had a hard time finding a job alt route. Your best bet is to apply in the rough areas or not sought after districts. My first teaching job was at private school, and the pay was LOW, but hey it's a job! Now, I am a fully certified teacher with 2 yrs experience, and I have only been on 2 interviews (one of those interviews was today) after many applications this summer. Even for certified teachers, it is not easy to find a job.

6. vickilyn