New York to Texas - time to move?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Ponypal, Dec 12, 2013.

1. Ponypal

Ponypal Comrade

Dec 12, 2013

Hi! I have taught in New York for 16 years. I have a Master's degree in education, certified N-6 and am tenured. My husband and I have been talking about visiting Texas, possibly the Houston/Gulf Coast area. He's been to texas before (loved it) and this would be my first time there.

The reason for the trip is to see if this would be an area/state that we'd like to move to. We are worn down with New York state politics, loads of snow, and other baloney that's going on here. I know that there's politics everywhere, but it seems that there's different regulations/laws that fit our lifestyle better, from what my husband seems to believe.

I was curious to know if there's anyone from New York who has moved to Texas and what your feelings are regarding moving there, teaching there and any other pertinent info. Also, would anyone know what the requirements are to become permanently certified.

Many years ago a friend from college moved there for a couple years. She was able to obtain a teaching job right away. She's moved away since as her husband's job required them to relocate and I have not been able to find her since to ask her about the above information. I do remember that she said she loved Texas. I am not a city person and have always loved the south, the heat, and farm/ranch life; so I'm thinking that this would be a place I'd enjoy.

Any feedback would be greatly apprecited! Thank you!

Leaborb192 likes this.
  3. bandnerdtx

bandnerdtx Aficionado

Dec 12, 2013

I've lived in Houston my whole life, and I love it! The job and housing markets are good. The culture is wonderful, and the food is delicious! Football kinda sucks right now... Lol.