New to Third Grade!

Discussion in 'Third Grade' started by teacherhoosier, Aug 2, 2017.

1. teacherhoosier

teacherhoosier Companion

Aug 2, 2017

This is my first year in third grade! I am moving after 7 years in primary (2 years in K and 5 in 1st). Any advice? What to expect? Best parts?

3. Fun_Teacher

Fun_Teacher Rookie

Aug 9, 2017

I used to teach only third grade. The curriculum for 3rd grade is definitely an interesting set up. I would consider third grade to be another chapter in a student's education. Third grade is typically a mixture of students. You will still have to teach appropriate behavior and how to be good in a classroom, but also you can use detention as a consequence. There are some students who are independent and ready for third grade, yet there are some students that aren't set for third grade. I loved teaching third grade. I can help you and give you additional advice, since I have taught third grade for ten years.

4. vickilyn

vickilyn Maven

Aug 9, 2017

I loved teaching third grade - inquisitive, fanciful, capable of deeper thought, better concept of consequences, a little prone to revert to the "baby" card if immature, capable of intrinsic motivation. Token economies can work quite well, and this is the age when the students are more self aware, which means that pesky deficits can really start t be identified and the students want to be "same", not "different", which can be motivational. Great ideas and concepts, and they can keep you on your toes. They are so much more capable and independent - a real joy!

5. Teacherhere

Teacherhere Rookie

Aug 9, 2017

I'd say 3rd is the defining grade from more a babying k-2 to what the rest of their schooling should be. They are very capable and you need to set the bar high for them. Grow them up quick and push them hard academically. A lot of growth can be made in 3rd grade depending on the teacher.

6. Obadiah

Obadiah Habitué

Aug 10, 2017