New Teacher Inherits Nasty Classroom!!!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Trendy_Teacher, Aug 22, 2011.

1. Trendy_Teacher

Trendy_Teacher Rookie

Aug 22, 2011

Hi All! I am a new teacher who is very excited about my first year! I am having a problem with the classroom though! The old teacher left EVERYTHING up and didn't clean her desk (all her personal items are EVERYWHERE) or ANYTHING off when she left (she resigned). There are literally dust bunnies and cobwebs hanging off chairs and mold in the sink where she let the paint brushes sit in water over the summer. There is paint on the walls, and it's just awful! There is YEARS worth of unorganized "stuff" and the manipulatives and shelves really need a revamping. I am sick with sinus and allergy infection b/c I went in and cleaned up this past week. We have quite a large allotment for the school year to spend on classroom supplies and stuff. I don't know what to keep or throw away though.
    Since everything is so messy (just thrown into boxes, no labels), I feel like tossing it and starting new, but I don't know if I could/should.
    And I don't like the round tables in the room and the wooden shelves are just nasty. Where does all this stuff go when a new teacher doesn't need it or wants to upgrade/replace things?
    Don't get me wrong, I am happy to finally have my dream job, but I can't be at my full potential until I clean this room thoroughly enough so I won't get sick (I'm a very clean person). I also don't want my kids to get sick. I want to talk to my Principal about it, but feel like maybe he will think I am out of place as a new teacher. What do I do?

3. Marci07

Marci07 Devotee

Aug 22, 2011

Does the school have a storage room? All the schools I've been at have one. I went through the same thing last year. The room was really bad. I just dumped everything in boxes, taped them, put the teacher's name on it and asked the maintenance crew to bring them to the basement (storage room).