New Teacher classroom setup/supplies

Discussion in 'Fifth Grade' started by Education4all, Jun 25, 2015.

1. Education4all

Education4all Rookie

Jun 25, 2015

I will be teaching 5th and it is my first year. I need to know what essentials I'll need to buy so I am ready to setup my classroom. I have no idea what was left in the room. I do not know if there will be books or shelves or what. I will get a day or two this summer to go setup so I'm curious what to bring. Any help or advice is appreciated. Thanks

3. teacherintexas

teacherintexas Maven

Jun 26, 2015

Take cleaning supplies and a few trash bags for the first visit. Things get dusty and yucky packed away for the summer. Also take a measuring tape and something to take notes. You'll also need more than a few days to get a new room situated.

4. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jun 26, 2015

Dont spend ANY money until you know what youre dealing with...Custodians in my school would give you a big trash can and cleaning supplies if you needed....even then, be careful of what you throw away. One year a new teacher in my school threw away a fairly new FOSS science kit her team shared:eek: Call your school and see how soon you can get in to the classroom. Also ask if you have a classroom budget for supplies. Good luck and congrats!

5. lucybelle

lucybelle Connoisseur

Jun 26, 2015

Agree with cza- don't spend a penny until you know what you have!

6. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Jun 26, 2015

Will you have access to a school library? Do you know if you will be doing whole-class reading of novels? If that is so, you might want to look into affordable ways of acquiring books.

7. Education4all

Education4all Rookie

Jun 26, 2015

Thanks for the ideas. I forgot that the room may be a mess and need cleaning.

8. BreezyGirl

BreezyGirl Companion

Jun 26, 2015