New Kindergarten Teacher

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by ampete, Jun 19, 2011.

1. ampete

ampete Rookie

Jun 19, 2011

I recently accepted a Kindergarten position and realized I am very overwhelmed! Anyone have anything out there for me?

I feel that I have no clue what to expect the first days/weeks? What to do the first day/week? When to actually start the lessons from the curriculum books? How to determine where the Kindergarteners are at in reading?

3. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Jun 19, 2011

Welcome! Congrats on the new job!

Do you have a team that you will work with? They will be a great help!

4. ampete

ampete Rookie

Jun 19, 2011

I am at a small private school. They've never had Kindergarten so it's a brand new class/room and I am a first-year teacher. I am also the only section of Kindergarten since there is only one class in each grade.

5. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Jun 19, 2011

I would highly suggest looking in the Daily 5 for kindergarten if you have freedom of the curriculum.

Do you know what curriculum you are supposed to use?

6. ampete

ampete Rookie

Jun 19, 2011

Yes, Saxon Math, Storytown, McGraw Social, Zaner Handwriting

7. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Jun 19, 2011

Most teachers spend the first few weeks teaching the procedures and routines. If this is the first year offer K, then it is probably many of these students first times to school.

Do your students bus to school or get dropped off?

8. ampete

ampete Rookie

Jun 19, 2011

I am not sure of that yet.

9. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Jun 19, 2011

If many students get dropped off, you'll probably want to do something that parents can join in on each morning or something that students can do without you so you can talk to parents.

10. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Jun 19, 2011

11. ampete

ampete Rookie

Jun 19, 2011

Thanks.