New Classroom Supplies?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by iRhetoric, Aug 14, 2017.

1. iRhetoric

iRhetoric New Member

Aug 14, 2017

Hi folks,

I recently became a permanent teacher, and this year I officially received my own classroom. Obviously, I'm very excited, and with the new school year around the corner, I'm trying to furnish my new workspace to have it ready.

So I have a general idea of things I need to include in my class, but as I go through this process, and start to make decisions about what I need (and can financially afford at this point), I know I'm inevitably going to forget some important items.

Please help me generate a list of key items that I should have in my classroom. What are your recommendations? Feel free list anything, I think in the end, I'll divide all suggestions into "items I need immediately" and "items I want eventually".

Note: I'm a high school teacher who teaches English and Social Studies (that's Canadian for History, Geography and Political Science).

Cheers!

3. Mshope2012

Mshope2012 Companion

Aug 15, 2017

I can't function without a document camera (ELMO). It is something I use everyday.

I have bookshelves with a classroom library in them. I have a lot of books from grants, donations, and my personal books.

For social studies, I like to have maps of regions we study up on bulletin boards. I also have some basic latitude, longitude, and other geography info up. We seem to refer to this a lot.

I also find an electric pencil sharpener helpful, though these often break.

iRhetoric likes this.
  4. vickilyn

vickilyn Maven

Aug 15, 2017

If you are going for the electric pencil sharpener, avoid cheap, and invest in a great one. NO colored pencils allowed in the electric sharpener. See what you can scrounge for bookshelves, cabinet with working lock, key for said lock.

novaguy1968 and iRhetoric like this.
  5. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Aug 15, 2017