need help for ED/BD classroom

Discussion in 'Special Education Archives' started by jnation, May 5, 2005.

1. jnation

jnation Companion

May 5, 2005

Hi Guys! This is my first post on this site. I just found out yesterday that I got a job teaching in an ED/BD self-contained classroom. I am a first year teacher and this classroom has only been up and running for a year now...the teacher who taught the class last year is transferring because she thought the job was too hard. So, naturally, I'm a little nervous and trying to prepare well in advance for any possible scenario. The kids have been reintegrated from the alternative school.
    I was just wondering if you guys could offer any advice or anecdotes about working with this population...i.e. behavior management strategies, classroom ideas, good books to read for information, etc. Any and all help would be much appreciated!
    Thanks in advance!
    Jen

3. ms. m

ms. m New Member

May 5, 2005

hey! i have been teaching ei/bd kids for five years now in a day treatment program and i LOVE it!!! :) don't be afraid!!! the kids will see that and run with it! :) just go in, be confident, be respectful, and the most important piece of advice i can give you is to hold the students accountable for their actions. instead of telling them to "please sit down", say something like, "i'll begin when you're ready to listen". instead of saying "don't do that", say something like "students who _______ don't get to ________", or "students who don't _________ get to __________."
    jim faye is an expert on dealing with children. he is the head of the Love and Logic organation. they have a web site and LOTS of great suggestions that really apply to our population of students.
    the fact that you accepted the job with the knowledge that someone ran away from it says a lot about you! i'm sure you'll do fine! stay positive!!!
    if i can help you with anything, please let me know and i'll do my best!!!

:)
    peace.
    rebecca