Need Advice Please

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by MRSCROW, Apr 21, 2011.

1. MRSCROW

MRSCROW New Member

Apr 21, 2011

Hello, I am new here! (been a lurker for a while as I am studying to become a teacher myself(second career))

I am a parent and was hoping to get some real advice.

My son's birthday is on the cutoff for K-sept. 1st

Academically and maturity-wise, I know he is ready. His Pre-K teacher also believes he is ready.

I know he may end up being the youngest of the class, but I think another year of Pre-K would not be beneficial for him.

The issue I am seeking advice on is this....He is VERY shy. He takes an incredibly LONG time to warm up to adults, peers, everyone, but once he does he is wonderful-he's very considerate, plays nicely, etc.

The problem is I feel like he doesn't know how to "join" a group already playing or doesn't want to participate in groups. He does well one-on-one, if there is one kid at the park, that is his new best friend. If there are 4 kids at the park, he hangs back and observes.

He has just begun T-ball and I have already seen improvement-he now will put his hand in for the team cheer and will also give high fives out after the game..it took about 2 practices and 2 games to get to that point.

So..... What can I do to encourage him? Should I even push the issue? Will it even be an issue in Kindergarten?

I truly appreciate any advice you can give me, as I really want my son to get the best start in school that he can.

Thank you for your time

3. punchinello

punchinello Comrade

Apr 21, 2011

Oh, this is always a tough one!

I teach a Junior Kindergarten, half day program. My students either just miss the cutoff date, or need/want one more year before the big K.

Every year, I meet with parents who are struggling with this decision. Over the past few years, the birthdays of my kids have slowly crept back and back. Next year, I will have mostly summer birthdays and some April/May. Our cutoff is Oct. 1.