Name tags ideas

Discussion in 'Early Childhood Education Archives' started by Guest, Aug 11, 2002.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

Aug 11, 2002

Help, I am a new preschool teacher and have all 3 year olds in my class. I am use to having 5,4 and 3 year olds together in a class. I need some ideas for name tags to help children identify their names. Such as: Do I use all the same pattern? Do I use a diffferent sticker on each name tag? Do I use different shapes? Let me know some of your ideas.

Thank you,

Brenda

3. pmts02

pmts02 Guest

Aug 11, 2002

I would use all the same name tags.

4. Guest

Guest Guest

Aug 12, 2002

Have you tried name tags with their picture on it?

5. Seich30

Seich30 Comrade

Aug 12, 2002

I would definitely use symbols or shapes (sun, moon, flower, fish, etc...). I have my students name tags on the table covered with contact paper. They all have a symbol (from Ellison Machine), because my younger ones are not ready to recognize their name, but need to know their spot. I've found that the ones that are ready will start to recognize name even if one a symbol. I have written their names on a sentence strip (with no symbol) and put in art center. That way anyone who wants to practice tracing or writing their name can find theirs and do so.

6. pmts02

pmts02 Guest

Aug 12, 2002

I WOULD USE THE SAME NAME TAGS FOR ALL OF THEM.

7. teacherkasey

teacherkasey Cohort

Aug 12, 2002

nametags

I would use two or three different name tags that go along with the central theme of your classroom. For example, in my KG class my room theme is under the sea. I will be using an octopus, a starfish, and a fish.

8. AJK

AJK Pre-k Montessori Teacher

Aug 12, 2002

name tags/attendance chart

I use all teddy bears, but 5 different colors. I try not to put names that begin with the same letter on the same color (i.e., I'd put "Chris" on blue and "Casey" on yellow. The teddy bears match the bears over their back pack hooks....