My teaching, is it getting worse?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Immy, Oct 9, 2017.

1. Immy

Immy New Member

Oct 9, 2017

I am in my 4th year of teaching. I am teaching mixed ability classes. We have had a lot of changes and I am working non-stop. I feel as though my teaching has gotten worse. There are students in my class who seem to really lack respect. I feel as though I am doing and trying my best but don't know what else I can do.

I have really lost my confidence and seem to have gotten things wrong in lessons - which is where it stems from. It started with A level and getting it wrong, and now it is taking a long time to get the respect back.
    Also we need to do more maths and my maths is not naturally great - so I can get things muddled and the really smart kids pick up on it.

I feel rubbish most days. I ended the year well I thought and started it well, but I don't know how long I can keep going like this for. 4 years in. Constant work and changes. I just don't know what to do. I don't want to just give up but I am really struggling, similar to my first year of teaching.

Has anyone else experienced this? Do you just grit your teeth and try and get through it?
    I do feel that as teachers we put ourselves in the firing line, and if we aren't perfect there is very little understanding. Who on earth can be perfect from the get go? Maybe there needs to be more training? But there isn't enough money for that :s!!

I am very lost this year.

3. IcyRock

IcyRock Rookie

Oct 9, 2017