My students are writing complaints about me, and I'm worried

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Kenz501, May 13, 2017.

1. Kenz501

Kenz501 Companion

May 13, 2017

Hi,

I work as a teacher at a detention center, but lately, my students have been writing grievance forms (they're a complaint form the kids have free access to, probably intended to prevent serious abuse) concerning my lack of interaction and face-to-face instructional time. This really isn't that kind of class, and I don't think I'm wrong to not interact much with the kids. I do walk around and answer questions if the students have them, and I provide them with work to work on when they aren't at the computers. I'm also available to tutor small groups or answer any questions the students might have. It's not my fault if they don't take advantage of the time.

Really, I feel like this is just the kids trying to take advantage of me and get everything working their way, and, no, I will not give in to such blatant harassment. These grievance forms do count on teacher evaluations, but what's being done to me isn't fair and makes little sense. For example, my most recent student grievance was filed by a student after finding out that they weren't getting movie time that day.

3. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

May 13, 2017

Are you able to respond to the grievances? I'm kind of assuming that administrators in charge are aware of the tricks these students will pull...after all, if they were honest, upstanding students, would they be in this placement?

MrTempest and AmyMyNamey like this.
  4. Ms.Holyoke

Ms.Holyoke Comrade

May 13, 2017