My rights....Help

Discussion in 'General Education' started by dana606, Feb 14, 2017.

1. dana606

dana606 New Member

Feb 14, 2017

Hi,
    As a teacher, I am not always sure of my rights and who protects me in different situation. I do not have a union and the administration is somewhat supportive. I wanted to know what my rights are regarding a parent who is threatening me on Facebook (looking like its "funny" and no name mentioned) . Her post started by asking for prayers and patience (referring to a meeting we were about to have) then the "support" from friends began leading to posts after the meeting where she talks about not holding in her attitude and a friend responded with "Who do we need to ( two knife emojis) tomorrow?" The parent referred to taking a trip in the direction of where I live ( those were not the exact words) Then the conversation continued with people saying does she need bail money? and parent responding that she's old enough not to get caught. Last parent said we they have a few tricks up there sleeves. Now there was NO history of arguments with this parent, her child has not been "in trouble" to cause such an anger in this person.
    So my question is what are MY RIGHTS as a teacher? All these parents and children have rights and I am held to numerous confidentiality rules along with watching anything I say on social media-which I am NOT friends with any students or parents. I would appreciate any guidance . Thank you

3. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Feb 14, 2017

I would take this issue to the administration.

Also, how are you connected on social media with this parent? If it is your site, it's time to shut it down. If it is not your site, it's time to remove yourself from that site also.

MrTempest likes this.
  4. dana606

dana606 New Member

Feb 14, 2017

I am not connected at all on social media someone saw it and showed it to me I have brought up with admin but don't know if they are going to do much

5. czacza