Multiple Subjects to Single Subject

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Dalila, Dec 4, 2018.

1. Dalila

Dalila Rookie

Dec 4, 2018

hello-
    So I am unsure what Forum to post this on but I definitely need assistance or guidance in general. So I graduated with my BA in Liberal Studies on 2016. I wanted to teach K-5th but after substitute teaching I changed my mind and see myself more at the high school level. However I do not know how to go about this. Do I go back to school and major in English or any advice on what to do? Curious and hope to get some direction. I know help for sure thank you in advance

3. tchr4vr

tchr4vr Companion

Dec 4, 2018

First, do you have your certification yet? If you do, go to your states education website and find out the requirements to get a 7-12 or 9-12 certificate in whatever subject you want to teach. You may be able to start with a provisional and then go take the classes you need to get at permanent, depending on how many credits you have in the particular subject. If you're not certified, I would go ahead and go back to school and combine your master's with your teaching certification courses-that's what I did, and I got both done in a year.

Out of curiosity, why high school? And why English? English tends to be a saturated market, so just be aware of that. And do you really want to teach high school, or is it just not K-5. If you haven't, I'd sub in a few high school classrooms before making the final decision.

Dalila likes this.
  4. YoungTeacherGuy

YoungTeacherGuy Phenom

Dec 4, 2018

Have you taken the Multiple Subjects CSETs yet? If not, good! Go ahead and take the English CSETs as you'll absolutely need to pass those. You don't need to go back to school go get an English degree. Also, you'll need to enroll in the Single Subject Credential Program instead of the Multiple Subjects Credential Program.

Dalila likes this.
  5. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Dec 4, 2018