Moving away from the basal....

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by pwhatley, Aug 29, 2013.

1. pwhatley

pwhatley Maven

Aug 29, 2013

I'm considering moving away from our basal system - Storytown. I don't have anything against it, but with Common Core, I'm not sure I'm giving my kiddos everything they need. This is my first year teaching 3rd grade, so I'm a little overwhelmed anyway. I want to take my time, research, and obtain materials. Of course, my district won't supply anything.

I guess I'm looking for advice, suggestions, you name it!

3. readingrules12

readingrules12 Fanatic

Aug 29, 2013

Yeah!! Good for you. Never could find the perfect resource in 3rd grade so I used several. Some of the books that are great for 3rd grade are:

1. Stone Fox by John Gardiner (a lot they can learn from this.)
    2. Martin Luther King Jr. by Margaret Davidson
    3. Helen Keller by Margaret Davidson
    4. Charlotte's Web
    5. The Mouse and the Motorcycle by Beverly Cleary

Teacher Created Materials Inc. has some good Literature Unit Study Guides that are helpful.

Good luck to you. Literature is a lot more fun, and with the internet, TPT, and other sources. There is a lot out there to help you move away from the basal. Good luck to you.

4. Tyler B.

Tyler B. Groupie

Aug 29, 2013

That was my story last year. We had stacks of Storytown books, but my team and I used novels and non-fiction sources to teach reading. Our scores were amazing.

We used techniques similar to this:
    http://ed-is-life.blogspot.com/2012/04/teacher-tech4-steps-to-boosting-reading.html

The skills we taught were writing skills imitating our authors.

Some of the books we used were:
    Amber Brown is Not a Crayon
    This author uses every puctuation mark on the keyboard as well as some very short sentences and fragments.

Key to the Treasure (Perish)
    This author uses only very basic puctuation and very simple sentence structures.

Henry and Beezus