Montessori training: is it worth it?

Discussion in 'Montessori Archives' started by dawnomite, Sep 12, 2006.

1. dawnomite

dawnomite New Member

Sep 12, 2006

I am a new teacher who is planning to start her teaching career next fall. I am having a hard time deciding if the time and money is worth investing in Montessori training. I strongly believe in creating a student directed and respectful classroom. I want to stay away from a discipline system which revolves around rewards and punishments. I want to teach for understanding not just rote memorization or abstract concepts. I believe that for real learning to take place the student has to construct the learning and that it has to be personal to them. I don't believe in mindless drill and practice or worksheets. I want to have a sucessful first year as a new teacher and I am looking for the best school for me.

I am worried that my teaching philosophy and goals will be hard to incorporate into a traditional public school. I feel like I will be "going against the grain" since most schools seem to be set up as the antithesis of my ideal teaching situation.

I am not that familiar with Montessori teaching, but I have skimmed a few books and have been lurking on this board for a while. I also had a school visit with a charter Montessori school in my area. I was very impressed! They mentioned a 9-12 year old position opening next fall and said that they were interested in seeing how I fit with their school.