Missing past students: ( How do u deal?

Discussion in 'General Education Archives' started by MissE, Sep 1, 2006.

1. MissE

MissE Rookie

Sep 1, 2006

So Last year I had a student who really touched me. I worked as an co-teacher and this boy has autism so I spent a lot of one on one time with him. A lot of the other teachers in the school thought he was a pain and annoying...but I absolutely loved him to death. He could always make me laugh!
    So when the students returned to school Wed. I was so excited to see him. He was on the roster for fifth grade so I was expecting him to be there. I did hear rumours that he wasn't coming back to our school because he moved. Sure enough Wednesday arrived...but my student didn't. He moved to a nice rural area about 30 minutes away from here.
    I looked forward to seeing him all summer. Now I'm so sad. I never thought about this kind of stuff when I was in school studying to be a teacher. You really do bond with your students in a way that no one else can ever imagine. It's tough at the end of the school year...but it is even tougher when you come back....your old kids are all grown up....and they aren't your students anymore...they are someone elses.
    I guess my question is...How do u deal with the fact that when your students leave in the summer or half way through the year or whatever....it is extremely possible that you will never ever see them again. I am upset over the fact that I will probably never see my favorite student again. I mean I'm not crying myself to sleep over it or anything...but it's just so disappointing. Does it get easier over the years passing your class over to the next teacher??? Or losing students to other schools? Maybe its because I am a new teacher....but this has really been an issue for me this week. I'm really gonna miss him a lot. Any advice or suggestions?

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Sep 1, 2006