Male preschool teacher ?

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by MrT, Dec 22, 2006.

1. MrT

MrT Rookie

Dec 22, 2006

I subbed one day for preschool special education. I felt uncomfortable in that position, because I am a male teacher and parents might be suspicious of a male preschool teacher.

I only was an aide that day, the teacher assistated the girls and she told me to assist the boys with their pants and going to the rest room. I felt a little uncomfortable helping the boys, unbuttoning and buttoning their pants, what would parents think? One three year old told me "can you wipe my butt." I told him, "come on your a big boy now you can do it." He was able to, to my relief. It's not that I don't mind, but parent's I think may feel uncomfortable with a man teacher doing what a women traditionally would do.

There was another guy teacher for another class helping the boys, it didn't seem to bother him and he didn't seem to be worried. This made me more comfortable and relieved my worries.

I assume if I was a preschool teacher and didn't have an aide, then I would have to help both the boys and the girls going to the restroom.

The teacher really liked me and so did the kids, but I declined when they asked me to sub preschool again, it just seems too risky if a parent accused a male teacher of wrong doing.

My cousin told me his preschool teacher was a male, and he remembers as a kid loving having a male teacher. He told me I should lighten up and not worry so much.

What are other teachers opinions? Is it too risky for a man to be a preschool teacher?

3. Grammy Teacher

Grammy Teacher Virtuoso

Dec 22, 2006