Male Elementary Teacher Demand?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by SpursGoMarchingOn, Jun 23, 2017.

1. SpursGoMarchingOn

SpursGoMarchingOn Rookie

Jun 23, 2017

Hi all,
    I'm new to the forum. I'm a student at a community college in NYC (m 21/yo), a soldier in the Army National Guard, and a prospective teacher. I am wondering about entering elementary education and had some questions.

1. Is there a bias against/towards men in elementary education?
    2. How saturated is the field?
    3. Is it easy to find a job in another state? (nowhere in particular in mind, but I do want to leave NY when finished with schooling)
    4. Would I be responsible for teaching math, social studies, language arts, and science? This is what I would want.
    5. I am a bit confused on what to major in. I want to teach between grades 1 to 5. The school I want to transfer to for my BA has majors in History childhood education, math childhood education, biology childhood education, etc. Is there a big difference in this? Would they all be able to become elementary teachers?

I'm sorry if I wasn't as clear as I would like to be, this is all just so new to me and I am anxious and excited to start! Any advice would be appreciated!

3. Kat.

Kat. Companion

Jun 23, 2017

I don't have an answer for all of your questions, but can answer some.

It just depends on where you go as to whether or not it'll be easy to find a job. Each state is totally different so you might need to get certified to teach in another state after you move, so keep that in mind. Then you have different districts that are easier to get into than others. On top of that, certain schools are easier to get into (ex: a title school might have a higher turnover rate, meaning more job openings).