Lowest Performing School in County

Discussion in 'General Education' started by YoungTeacherGuy, Apr 16, 2018.

1. YoungTeacherGuy

YoungTeacherGuy Aficionado

Apr 16, 2018

This year, there was a lot restructuring in my district. I am new to my current site--as is my principal. The former principal and vice principal were both moved to other sites within our district (no one lost their job...this sort of thing happens every few years). Anyway, there's a ton of pressure on my principal and me because my school is the lowest performing elementary in the entire county (and this is a BIG county). Our scores are atrocious. We start taking the state test next week and I'm so incredibly nervous. Like my principal says, though, we can't get any worse than last place.

I think a large part of why I'm so tense is the fact that everyone at the D.O. keeps trying to stroke our egos--telling us that we (my principal and me) are the dream team and that our scores will undoubtedly improve this year.

I do know that we've made a ton of changes this year to the site and regardless of whether or not our scores improve, we've worked our tails off! I've worked more 12 hours days this year than I have in all my other years combined!

futuremathsprof and Backroads like this.
  3. Always__Learning

Always__Learning Comrade

Apr 16, 2018

YTG, I'm sure you and your P have done great work but I would suggest that when we are looking at scores in my District we always look over a 5 year period. I wouldn't put too much pressure on yourself. In contrast, if it was me and my scores went up a ton, I wouldn't be too quick to pat myself on the back either because there are so many other factors at play. I'd just keep doing what you are doing and know that in the long run it will pay off.

Been There likes this.
  4. Been There

Been There Habitué

Apr 16, 2018