Lost my job, sharing my story, contract non renewal

Discussion in 'General Education' started by s0urplum, Mar 9, 2018.

1. s0urplum

s0urplum New Member

Mar 9, 2018

I'm just writing because I'm tired of being silent. I'm also writing in hopes that maybe someone will read this and not feel so alone or read this and be inspired to comment.

I worked really hard to get my degree in teaching -- a master's degree from a top university in my area. I earned an outstanding GPA and was well respected by my professors and colleagues. I was lucky enough to student teach successfully in a particular district that decided to hire me as a full time teacher once I graduated- at the same school! My first half year was awesome. Kids loved me and I was given all advanced classes to teach. The following year I struggled a little with classroom management and I had all Spanish I classes and Spanish II. It was hard, but I got better throughout the year and my evaluations weren't bad (nothing to write home about, but nothing alarming). The next year I decided I wanted to try elementary EL teaching (in the same district). I was placed on the 5th grade team. This was my second year teaching. I loved the school but soon things began to change. I had to go in to other teachers' classes and co-teach, but they had a very specific way they wanted me to do that so I just did whatever the told me to do. This was a new concept for me. I felt I never could teach what I wanted. These two teachers in particular would correct me in front of the kids and if I taught an activity a certain way, they'd tell me there was one particular way to do it even though they'd never shared that with me before. I kept silent because I just figured it would be better for me to continue to pretend like they were right and make them feel important.