Literacy Work Stations

Discussion in 'Second Grade' started by Teachingtots, Aug 31, 2008.

1. Teachingtots

Teachingtots Rookie

Aug 31, 2008

I'm a new teacher and I'm trying to get a handle on setting up literacy work stations. My kids will be doing stations while I lead guided reading groups during our reading workshop block.

I'm planning on having ten stations in all, so two children at each station for 15 minutes at a time. Once we get into the swing of things, they will rotate through four stations per day. Does this seem reasonable?

I know that it's a good idea to have students only rotate through 1 or 2 stations the first week or so, so that students can get used to expectations and the routine. But how do you initially introduce each station and task for the first time?? It seems like a lot to show the kids all the stations in one day!! How does everyone else introduce stations for the first week? THANKS!!!!!!! :help:

3. SaraFirst

SaraFirst Cohort

Sep 1, 2008

I introduce stations one at a time. I have some of the same students from last year. They were familiar with them, so that helped. You could even use small group time to introduce them, so that the kids pay more attention. My kids only do one station a day, b/c I have another teacher to help with reading groups. Your plan should work though.

4. peggy27

peggy27 Cohort

Sep 1, 2008

We had some training in this before school started. Our trainer told us to go thru with the students what each center would look and sound like when they are there. Post these on the walls. She said to start practicing with 4 centers of blocks. Have the students play a few minutes with the blocks, clean, and then go over how they did. Then add a reading center and so on until you have phased out the block center. It should take a couple weeks to get it all going.

5. Youngteacher226

Youngteacher226 Enthusiast

Sep 1, 2008