Less Stressful/Easiest State?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Alyssa20, Nov 14, 2017 at 10:14 PM.

1. Alyssa20

Alyssa20 New Member

Nov 14, 2017 at 10:14 PM

Hello,
    I live in California and am in the MSCP at a CSU. Unfortunately, I enrolled in the program before I passed the CSETS. I passed the CBSET the first time and thought it was easy and figured the CSETS would be as well; boy was I wrong. I passed subtest III, but subtest II Math/Science is the death of me! It's incredibly difficult; especially since I just want to stick to K-3. The math and science on the CSET is definitely at high school level (I did not learn any of that difficult math in elementary...and I'm 24, so it wasn't that long ago I graduated high school). I'm considering moving to another state that could have an easier method (I heard California is the hardest...) . I was wondering if anyone knew of other states that are much easier? I do have a bachelor's in Child Development and have been teaching at preschools and subbing in public elementary schools.

3. Leaborb192

Leaborb192 Connoisseur

Nov 15, 2017 at 12:34 PM

So is your basic question: which states is it easier to get a teaching license and job in? I would say take your pick of any red state (Arizona is right next door) and they're (mostly) DESPERATE for teachers and will pretty much hand you a license! The catch: those states aren't the best for teaching, especially if you come from California.
    Avoid a lot of any of the East Coast Blue States (like NY) as it's also a pain to get licensed; people fail left and right to the point NY has eliminated one of the tests and has "safety net'' passing scores...

Caesar753 likes this.
  4. YoungTeacherGuy

YoungTeacherGuy Aficionado

Nov 15, 2017 at 1:42 PM