Lazy Answers Help!

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by mlf84743, Jan 16, 2013.

1. mlf84743

mlf84743 New Member

Jan 16, 2013

I am a substitute teacher embarking on a 6 week adventure teaching 7th grade social studies for a teacher on medical leave.
    One thing that I hadn't been able to master as a student teacher was when you call on a student and they say "I don't know." If they really don't know, I don't want to pressure them to answer. But sometimes they just say that because they are lazy, and I can't stand it! I tried participation notecards, but it just took too much time in and out of class.
    When I was in highschool, my most admired teacher was the teacher that called on you when you weren't paying attention, thus, you tried very hard to pay attention to avoid being called on. I think this was very effective and motivating to participate. I have not had this experience. I really want a student to answer quickly and be able to move on to the next question or point. Advice???

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Jan 16, 2013

Whenever I get the "I don't know" answer, I usually say, "Well, let's figure it out. Tell me what you know about...." and then I lead them through finding the answer. It works well in my class and it doesn't let anyone off the hook. Students usually know more than they pretend to. Some students are so afraid of being wrong that they're not willing to even take a chance. With the method I use, it gives students a chance to find their way to a successful answer with a sort of safety net (me).

4. a2z

a2z Phenom

Jan 16, 2013

Great response. Handle the behavior, not the motivation.

There are many reasons a student will not answer when called on, even if they know the answer.