Kindergarten Teacher Interview Advice Needed!!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by texteacher, May 14, 2012.

1. texteacher

texteacher Companion

May 14, 2012

Hello! I'm in the process of moving schools (I relocated where I live so I absolutely have to move schools as it is over an hour away from where I reside).

So, I started out teaching second grade, then after two years moved to first. I've been teaching first for the past two years and really enjoy it. Now I'm being interviewed by an entire kindergarten team this week! I'm really nervous. I've always taught in the inner city and this job is in in the suburbs. I'm not really sure what kinds of things they are looking for. What are things that most suburban kindergarten teams would look for in a teacher? What do you think makes a good kindergarten teacher? I'm not really sure I'm cut out for it all! I know that first grade is only one grade ahead of kinder but I've never had to deal with a lot of crying during the beginning of the year because they are afraid or anything like that.

I also wonder what are some suggestions about making the transition to the suburbs? I'm used to no parent involvement and this school is huge on that! During my initial interview, I was asked how I would handle a helicopter parent in my classroom. I said I honestly wasn't sure because I'd never dealt with it, but that I would look to my team for advice and suggestions. But now I am wondering, how do teachers deal with the occasional helicopter parent?

Please help! Any advice you have to offer would be greatly appreciated.

3. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

May 15, 2012

Suburb K is probably very similar to inner city 1st grade. A good K teacher is one who can get students excited about learning and school, teach through games and fun activities, teach students to share, organize their materials, and work with others.