Kindergarten Help!

Discussion in 'General Education' started by CowlyHole, Jan 3, 2018.

1. CowlyHole

CowlyHole Rookie

Jan 3, 2018

I was just recently hired to teach kindergarten!
    I had interviewed with this school in October and felt like I had nailed the interview, but the teacher decided she wasn't leaving. Fast forward to right before Christmas and I noticed they were hiring again and asked if I could interview again.
    I interviewed again and the rest is history.

I'm a new teacher. This is only my second year (and my first time teaching everyday). Last year I taught high school English (10th and 11th grade).

I'm feeling a little nervous about teaching kindergarten because it's obviously MUCH different than what I taught last year.
    I'm also nervous because it seems like the teacher I am replacing is very unorganized. I want to keep their schedule, but I can't really tell what it is.
    And then the icing on the cake, I shadowed for a little bit yesterday, then went in for orientation today. I should have had tomorrow and Friday to shadow some more, but school is closed tomorrow due to the impending blizzard. Because of the area, school will also likely be closed Friday (and who knows, there may be a delay on Monday).

My first day is Monday and I'm just not even sure where to begin. I love kindergartners. I'm very excited, but I'm feeling overwhelmed. The school seems amazing and all the other teachers are very nice and I know they'll be helpful. The teacher I'm replacing said that the other two teachers were making the monthly schedule.

Do you have any recommendations? Any helpful hints? What should I do to have a successful first day/rest of the year?

Thank you!

3. Hokiegrad1993

Hokiegrad1993 Companion

Jan 4, 2018

You got this! Good luck!
    1.Be patient kindergartners range from immature to mature, some may still need help with bathrooms and everything.
    2. Be positive and make transitions easy along with rules being clear.