Journal Entry Ideas?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education Archives' started by Ann Marissa, Jul 12, 2006.

1. Ann Marissa

Ann Marissa Rookie

Jul 12, 2006

Hello! I was wondering if anyone knew a list of journal entry topics to give my 6th grade students. I used journals when i was in school, but can't remember any that were age-appropriate for 6th graders. I want them to be able to journal once a day (either in the morning, after lunch or at the end of the day, i haven't decided).

Should i allow them to write about their feelings? I feel, though, if i allowed them to write about their day or their feelings, that i shouldn't be reading it. I had a teacher who allowed us 5 minutes to write in the journal as a stress-reliever, but reassured us that she wasn't going to read them or grade the content, just grade the fact that we put something in the book.

I'm a new teacher and i want to go at this the right way!

Thanks in advance!
    AM

3. wig

wig Devotee

Jul 12, 2006

I usually give them a prompt. they have to fill a page skipping every other line. Often I will have them take one of their favorite journal entries and develop it. If you google daily journal prompts you will come up with quite a few. I use this one:
    http://www.writingfix.com/dailypromptgenerator.htm
    This site also has a lot of other great things to explore.

4. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Phenom

Jul 12, 2006

I have some really cool spiral bound prompt books that the kids love. I've got six or eight of them. I don't use them much anymore because we use our journals for our daily focus activities now. I'm going to school tomorrow, and if my brain allows me to remember them I'll write down the names and post them.

5. muinteoir

muinteoir Companion

Jul 12, 2006

6. paperheart

paperheart Groupie

7. Ann Marissa

Ann Marissa Rookie

Jul 13, 2006

Thank you so much for all your ideas! i can't wait to use them!!!!

8. Iteachtwo

Iteachtwo Companion

Jul 13, 2006