Job Offer Dilemma

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Chelseacat12, Jun 6, 2018.

1. Chelseacat12

Chelseacat12 Rookie

Jun 6, 2018

Monday I interviewed at a school I absolutely loved. It is close to me and a public school which I was looking for and I thought the interview went well. The principal told me that I shouldn't be worried if I don't hear back soon because they are very swamped with end of the year things. However, today I did a demo lesson/interview at a charter school and they offered on the spot. Being a first year teacher, I'd take any job I can get, but if I accept this job and the first school calls me back afterwards I'd be so upset. Would it be bad to accept this charter school job and if the other school made an offer take that instead?

3. vickilyn

vickilyn Virtuoso

Jun 6, 2018

Most charters are "at will", meaning they can let you go without cause or notice, and the beauty is that it is a two way street. Something to think about.

4. FourSquare

FourSquare Fanatic

Jun 6, 2018

My charter school had people back out on jobs ALL the time. I say take the job and then decline it if the public school calls. Here, the charter and public circles are very separated...nobody will know.

5. Ms.Holyoke

Ms.Holyoke Habitué

Jun 7, 2018

How did you feel about the charter school?

I was offered a charter school job that I declined in March. I was considering accepting and backing out but I realized it just wasn't a job that I wanted to take. The school seemed fine but the location and hours weren't worth it. I would check with the charter about how many hours teachers are supposed to stay at the school as well as the salary.

I would ask the charter how much time you can have to think about it. Then, email school #1, and tell them you have another offer but they are your first choice.

6. Chelseacat12

Chelseacat12 Rookie

Jun 7, 2018

I didn’t know that, thank you!

7. Chelseacat12

Chelseacat12 Rookie

Jun 7, 2018