Is this allowed?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by MissB123, Aug 22, 2018.

1. MissB123

MissB123 Rookie

Aug 22, 2018

I am fairly new to this district that I'm in, I worked in other districts before where they are very lenient. I sent out an e-mail to all of my colleagues and principal asking if they would like to go to a free teacher event. It's for after school hours on a weekend.

The principal emailed me back saying we need to talk about this.

Was I not allowed to invite my colleagues out? It is not a school function, I invited many of my friends + colleagues so I did not see that I needed permission such as a christmas party etc.

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Aug 22, 2018

What is ‘allowed’ can vary from school to school, administrator to administrator. Tread lightly until you know ‘the rules’. In the meantime, given that this was a teacher event, you’ve got enthusiasm for teaching and the best of intentions on your side. Let us know how the convo with P goes.

4. vickilyn

vickilyn Magnifico

Aug 22, 2018

If sent on your private email, it might have been OK. If sent on the school email, not OK.

Backroads likes this.
  5. TrademarkTer

TrademarkTer Groupie

Aug 22, 2018

It does seem it was not OK in the OP's particular school, but people do it all the time via school email in my district. Sometimes it's even the admin sending it out. I think it varies by building so I don't think we can really answer this question as we don't know the building culture.

dgpiaffeteach likes this.
  6. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Aug 22, 2018

As a general rule, if you're sending something out to all staff, it should be something you've either already vetted by an administrator, or something directly related to the work you are doing in the school. If this were me, I would have just emailed it to my team and other teachers that I was friendly with... or skipped the email altogether and given them a paper copy of an invite.