Is there any way to turn this around????

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by rebeccals, Jan 12, 2018.

1. rebeccals

rebeccals New Member

Jan 12, 2018

Y'all. I'm a first year teacher and I am LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOSING MY SHIT.

I entered the classroom four weeks late (last-minute job transfer) with a very vague notion of classroom management and consequently my classroom is a freaking zoo. My students yell at me, don't do their work, shout out continuously while I'm talking and constantly disrespect me (to my face or by stealing my stuff--and breaking it--behind my back). Oh yeah, I'm also pretty bad at spotting these things. I'm working on it, but the eyes haven't grown into the back of my head yet...

Naturally, the more my students scream the lower my management skills sink, so my relationship with these kiddos is pretty much nonexistent too.

I think next year will be better since I'll have a better idea of how to implement a strong CM plan and STICK with it throughout the rest of the year. It feels the kids' expectations are so entrenched now that there won't be a lot of change this year. But trudging through the rest of the semester in this madhouse is like torture.

I don't know what I'm looking for, either advice or sympathy or just commiseration... (is anyone else's classroom this bad?!?!).... But I had to get it out because sometimes I think that this classroom is LITERALLY driving me crazy.

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Jan 12, 2018

What grade?

4. ms.irene

ms.irene Connoisseur

Jan 12, 2018

It is possible to reset, although it is difficult, and it will probably never be perfect. What grade level is this? What plan (if any) do you currently have in place? What have you tried? I highly recommend checking out the smart Classroom Management blog (Google it) -- it has some great, simple strategies for refocusing.

Obadiah likes this.
  5. MissScrimmage

MissScrimmage Aficionado

Jan 12, 2018