Interventions

Discussion in 'Third Grade' started by pwhatley, Aug 29, 2013.

1. pwhatley

pwhatley Maven

Aug 29, 2013

Hi, y'all. Most of you know that I have just moved to third, after teaching 5 years in 1st. I have some of my wonderful students from 2 years ago, which is a true blessing! I do need some help, though, in the form of suggestions:

4 of my students (one former, recently accepted in to SPED inclusion, 3 new to me) are extremely low. By low, I mean that they aren't even reading at the January benchmark for 1st grade. The three new to me came to me from different schools/states, so I have no knowledge of their backgrounds (except that one has 2 brothers who have been identified as SPED, so why hasn't she?!?!?!:dizzy:).

My former student has an extreme speech defect and some processing difficulties, and in the past, really used playing and goofing off as a defense mechanism to distract the other kids from the fact that he was failing (repeated 1st grade) and couldn't keep up academically. This year, he is markedly different - he is working like a champ! He even made an 18/20 on last week's spelling test! His strong suit is math, in which he is a B student. He is still abysmally low in all things reading and language arts.