individual or community supplies????

Discussion in 'Second Grade' started by krissy83, Jul 29, 2008.

1. krissy83

krissy83 Rookie

Jul 29, 2008

Hi everyone,

I keep going back and forth over whether I want to have students have individual supplies or have community supplies. If I did community supplies I would either keep them in a caddy in the middle of their group of desks or keep them on a shelf and have the "table managers" retrieve them when needed.

Right now I'm leaning toward doing a mix of both as I'll have frequently used items like pencils, glue sticks, scissors, etc. in personal cases, and things like colored pencils and markers and extra crayons in community bins.

Which do you prefer and why?

:thanks: Krissy

3. TeachMe3

TeachMe3 Rookie

Jul 29, 2008

Krissy,

I am a 2nd year teacher and I am also going back and forth between personal and community. My class had a hard time doing the community last year. So this year I am going to do a mix of both. I bought little minature rectangular baskets for each individual student to put their pencils, crayons, scissors, and glue stick. I am going to have baskets for the colored pencils, markers, extra crayons for them to use as a community. I am assigning my students into groups by names. I am going to label a basket in the center of their desks. Somethings like the frogs, butterflies, grasshoppers, and fireflies. Their community baskets are also going to correspond with their group names.

4. JaimeMarie

JaimeMarie Moderator

Jul 29, 2008

I think the mix idea sounds perfect for second graders. My students two years ago all had personal supplies. Last year we had community. Will you be supplying them or will they bring their own?

5. janlee

janlee Devotee

Jul 29, 2008

I have always had individual supplies. I do keep extra glue sticks, scissors, and a crayon crate of extra crayons for when someone forgets to replace their own supplies.

6. amyt682

amyt682 Comrade

Jul 29, 2008