Inclusion

Discussion in 'Second Grade' started by mrs.oz, Sep 2, 2007.

1. mrs.oz

mrs.oz Companion

Sep 2, 2007

Do any of you teach inclusion? I am a teacher but I have a personal parenting question. Please respond and then I will ask the question.

3. Shellbell601

Shellbell601 Rookie

Sep 2, 2007

Hello! I have never posted before but I am a 2nd grade inclusion teacher. What can I help you with? :)

4. mrs.oz

mrs.oz Companion

Sep 2, 2007

ok, My son was tested last year and placed in an inclusion classroom. He did very well and got the helped he needed. This year he is also in an inclusion classroom. He has been in school 8 days and I am already having problems. He is ADD, sensory processing, and SLD (reading and language processing). I have had him tested at a nearby speech and language center where they have said that he is within normal limits in auditory processing but the report says that he scored low on background noise.
    I have already gotten a letter from the teacher saying that he is having trouble with completing assignments due to daydreaming. He has always been this way. She gave him a yellow dot for it. duh
    well he told me that she is playing music that bothers him. Also,
    yesterday he brought home a spelling test with a 92 on it. When I asked him why he said she threatened to give him a 0 if he did not get his test finished. To me, accomodations are not being made.
    The IEP says that tests will be read to him. you would think that his special ed teacher would be there during the test.?????? I don't know how to handle this situation or if I am in the wrong. Should he be able to function the way she wants him too.?????
    :confused:

5. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Sep 2, 2007