I'm going to have a student teacher...

Discussion in 'General Education' started by MissJill, Aug 21, 2009.

1. MissJill

MissJill Cohort

Aug 21, 2009

Let me start this off by saying I'm SUPER excited. I think that it's great and I hope that they like me.

BUT this is my first year teaching, I hope I'm good enough for them! I'm totally nervous.

Any advice?

3. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Aug 21, 2009

I have never heard of a school district giving a first year teacher a student teacher. I guess you can both learn together. You will both be wonderful supports for each other. Good luck and have fun!

4. Ms. I

Ms. I Maven

Aug 21, 2009

WOW, only been teaching a year & you're already having an ST?! Was this your choice or your principal's to have one so soon? Do you feel you know enough to do this?

Anyways, no matter how your ST is, have fun & make the best of it. Be genuinely concerned w/ that person's success & be willing to go out of your way to help him/her, meaning, if you have to miss a lunch or break here & there of being w/ your usual teacher friends & colleagues in order to help your ST out, do it. That's the sacrifices a cooperating teacher (CT) has to make to be a GOOD CT.

Take it from me, I've had a total of 4 CTs in my life because I have 2 credentials & I'll say only 1 of them was genuinely fantastic. One of the others was pretty good, but the rest, eh. You don't want your ST to say that about you after it's all over & REMEMBER, THE ST WILL PROBABLY HAVE A CHANCE TO EVALUATE YOU TOO AT THE END, SO THIS WILL AFFECT IF YOU EVER HAVE ANOTHER ST IN THE FUTURE. :)

5. Peachyness

Peachyness Virtuoso

Aug 21, 2009

I've never heard of a first year teacher getting a student teacher. In fact, it was a rule at my university that the teacher had to have taught for at least 5 years in order to have a student teacher.