I'm discouraged

Discussion in 'Substitute Teachers' started by loveskids, Oct 27, 2016.

1. loveskids

loveskids Rookie

Oct 27, 2016

This isn't really a question. I'm a member, but haven't posted anything in several years. I sub at basically one school, and I've been subbing there on and off for about 8 years. I love all the students, and they seem to love me. Which is awesome. Okay, but here's the thing: I really HATE subbing most of the time. I need the money, and I love working with kids and I love teaching itself. I ALWAYS knew I wanted to be a teacher. What I hate is the fact that sometimes I just can't control the classroom, and I feel like I should be able to. I 'm just "Too nice", and I want the students to like me. I have been finding a lot of excuses NOT to sub when called; I guess I'm basically scared. I have had some really bad experiences, along with some good experiences. I only teach the younger grades, precisely for that purpose. Many of the kids at this school are very behaviorally challenged, a lot of behavior plans and IEP's. I got on here tonight, hoping to pick up some hints to strengthen my behavior management skills. I did get some good ideas. But I also read a lot that has me even more discouraged. I want to get past the fear and be able to benefit not just myself, but the students (of course!) Surviving would be nice, too!

3. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Phenom

Oct 27, 2016

It might be hard to reestablish yourself after being at this school for so many years. Even if you try to be strict, the kids would expect you to be nicer, and it would be hard. I'm not saying not to do it, but could you sub at another school? Start fresh, put on your "strict, all about business face" and establish yourself there? Then you'll get some self confidence and classroom management skills and go back to sub at your old school as well.

4. Mr Magoo

Mr Magoo Comrade

Oct 28, 2016

Last edited: Feb 25, 2017 at 9:32 PM
  5. miss-m

miss-m Cohort

Oct 28, 2016