I'm a first year teacher and its hopeless

Discussion in 'High School' started by Dragon02, Sep 27, 2017.

1. Dragon02

Dragon02 Rookie

Sep 27, 2017

Its my 5th week of teaching and I feel like I don't know what I'm doing. I feel like I have to research my subject constantly to come up with a lesson for my students. I stay up at night with worry and depression and I wake up with dread every morning. At the moment I'm teaching at the lowest level, I have them do a graphic organizer with vocabulary , then I show a powerpoint and lecture(puts kids to sleep) then I have them do review questions out of the book , then a day of review and then a test. I feel that my way of teaching sucks. I don't feel like I'm doing my students justice. There are state standards, and I don't think I'm hitting every point. I'm torn between teaching from the book or from the standards, or if I should just teach what I think is important. My kids are great, well behaved, and I get along with them famously . I believed I have established rapport. I just don't know what to teach or how to teach it. Any one else go through this in their first year? Am I alone in this ?

3. rpan

rpan Cohort

Sep 28, 2017

You have to teach to the standards but change your pedagogy. You have well behaved students, that is more than a lot of first year teachers have. There are so many lessons out there for every subject that you can modify. Find a teacher blog, teacherspayteachers, Pinterest etc.

anon55 and Dragon02 like this.
  4. AlwaysAttend

AlwaysAttend Fanatic

Sep 28, 2017

Google subject/topic project based learning and see what comes up. No one reivents the wheel every lesson.

Dragon02 likes this.
  5. bella84

bella84 Aficionado

Sep 28, 2017