IEPs

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by otsegogirl27, Nov 17, 2012.

1. otsegogirl27

otsegogirl27 Rookie

Nov 17, 2012

I came here tonight after 2 failed IEPs to see how everyone's first IEP or two went... Honestly, I after college and grad school, I feel like I've never seen an IEP in my life. I am new to high school (muchless public schools) and new to transitional ages, and feel like I completely bombed my 1st two IEPs outside of grad school. I feel like an a--hole!! Can anyone relate???

3. waterfall

waterfall Phenom

Nov 17, 2012

I'm a little confused...did someone actually tell you that you did the IEPs wrong, or do you just think you didn't write them well? If a supervisor is not happy with them, you need to ask them to show you what they want or find out how you can get more training. Be proactive in wanting to improve. If you're just not feeling comfortable, ask another sped teacher to help you out or at least show you some good examples. I used to teach sped and I honestly had little to no training in sped (my college program was mostly gen ed, and I didn't do IEPs at all) so it was overwhelming at first. I learned a ton just by really looking closely at IEPs that had already been done the previous year at my school and modeling mine after that. I was the only sped teacher, but I was able to ask the SLP any specific questions I had and asked her to check things over that I wasn't sure about. She was a huge help!

4. bros

bros Phenom

Nov 18, 2012

What are you having trouble with?

5. ciounoi

ciounoi Cohort

Nov 18, 2012

Try to get your hands on a few IEPs that you can look over. That should help you get an idea of what they should look like. There are also several books out there about writing IEPs. One series a lot of people recommend is the Wrightslaw series.