I think I made a mistake.

Discussion in 'General Education' started by JDawn2005, Jun 13, 2017.

1. JDawn2005

JDawn2005 New Member

Jun 13, 2017

I’m not sure where else to go for advice. I’m getting ready to finish my degree in special education and I feel like I made the biggest mistake. I love working with children but I hate teaching. I’ve been doing private homeschooling for the past two years, I love and hate it. Before this I worked for a special needs school, this is where I decided to go back and finish my degree. I hate the thought of going in for my observation hours. Is there anything I can do with an education degree besides teaching? I think I was listening to everyone else saying how I’d be good at it instead of my own thoughts.

3. mathteachertobe

mathteachertobe Cohort

Jun 13, 2017

What specifically do you hate about your current job? What do you love about it? How close are you to finishing? When you started, where did you imagine yourself teaching? How and where are your observation hours completed?

I can probably offer some suggestions, but I feel like I need a little more information first.

4. JDawn2005

JDawn2005 New Member

Jun 13, 2017

My student teaching is set for January and I already have an associate’s degree. I’ve done observation hours in everything from pre-k to 3 in typical classrooms and special education classrooms. I love working with the kids doing crafts and experiments but I hate developing actually lessons and delivering them. I don’t know where I saw myself, I was working a dead-end job and I think I just rushed into it because I already had an associate’s degree in early childhood.

5. mathteachertobe

mathteachertobe Cohort

Jun 13, 2017