I just want to quit!!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by NewKindy1, Sep 25, 2015.

1. NewKindy1

NewKindy1 Rookie

Sep 25, 2015

WARNING: LONG POST AHEAD

This is my first year teaching and my first year teaching kindergarten. I'm failing at this!! Today, I was trying to give an ELA test, but I couldn't get my kids to sit down and pay attention to anything I was saying. Then my principal walked in and I panicked. She whispered to me that I wasn't administering the test properly and suggested what I should do, so I changed it while she was there and the class was fine, but the minute she walked out, everything became chaotic again.

Since I couldn't reign them in again, I just took up the tests and stopped completely and the chaos just kept going. Some students were hitting each other with pencils, some were chasing each other around the room, some were crawling under the tables, some were flipping the chairs, and some were jumping off the tables! My principal then came in and pulled one of my students out. I found out that she was looking at my class from the room next door to mine (we share a bathroom).

A few minutes later, my principal called me into her office. She was saying the same thing that she's been saying "if I can't handle I should either quit or be fired" . She said that it's been six weeks and she still hasn't seen improvement, even with all the advice that I've been giving. She thinks that I don't want it bad enough, but I do, it's just that I'm so tired and stressed out that I never know where to start. I can't even process all my thoughts, and once my kids leave, I shut my brain down.