I have 34 students-help me w/ guided reading/centers!

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by Sunny Teacher, Aug 15, 2009.

1. Sunny Teacher

Sunny Teacher Rookie

Aug 15, 2009

I have 34 students until we hire another teacher. Does anyone have any suggestions for how to run centers/guided reading? Is meeting with a group a couple times a week enough? How soon into the year do you start guided reading and centers? Also, this is my first year teaching...how should I introduce centers, and what does your reading curriculum look like (in the beginning and then once you get the system down)?

Any help is greatly appreciated!

3. WindyCityGal606

WindyCityGal606 Enthusiast

Aug 15, 2009

My first thought was to suggest you stay away from all alcohol so you don't turn to drinking to handle 34 first graders! Yikes!! LOL
    I hope they hire a teacher soon. What's their hold up or do they just like leaving you twitching in the wind?

4. ms. yi

ms. yi Comrade

Aug 15, 2009

I usually don't start guided reading into about a month in. The first month is for assessing, assessing, assessing! Hopefully by that time the other teacher will be hired.

I like to meet with my lowest group every day and rotate the others so that I see them a couple of times a week. When you introduce your centers, really take the time to practice the procedures for participating in them and rotating - if you rotate in the same day.

I'm going to try the stamina building practice mentioned in the Daily 5 but I'll apply it to centers instead of independent reading. Start with 10 minutes the first day and keep increasing the time as they get accustomed to working quietly in them. You'll have to definitely walk around and monitor a lot at first but as they are building their stamina, you should wean them off of your support until they can be completely independent in them.

Good luck :)

5. Sunny Teacher

Sunny Teacher Rookie

Aug 15, 2009