I got a job!! Now how in the world do I go about setting up my classroom....?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by newteacher14, Jun 16, 2015.

1. newteacher14

newteacher14 Rookie

Jun 16, 2015

Hi Teachers!

I just got a job offer to teach 3rd grade!! I am going to meet with the principal and visit the school this week. I'm not sure if I'll get my keys/get to see my room yet.

I am so excited but now I'm feeling stressed about how to set up my classroom. Being a new teacher, I don't have a ton of money to spend but I still want to make my room feel super inviting and warm. I'm in the process of searching Pinterest and teacher blogs to get ideas but it is very overwhelming! Does anyone have any suggestions/advice for 3rd grade?

3. TnKinder

TnKinder Companion

Jun 16, 2015

Congratulations:2up::2up:
    Start off with the basics. My district give us a stipend to buy what we need. It can be anything from decorations to a stapler. Find out if you district or school has money for you to get things for your classroom. Target's dollar spot, Dollar Tree, and and even Dollar General has great, cheap products for the classroom. Pinterest is great, but you can also look at some blogs and reach out to your new coworkers for some ideas. Good luck on you up coming year!

4. bewlove

bewlove Companion

Jun 17, 2015

I was in the same boat last year. I didn't know what I was teaching, either, which made things difficult (as far as subjects).

With that being said, I would focus on the things you're going to need to do regardless of anything else.
    -Baskets for supplies
    -Make or buy your labels
    -Start getting your decorative stuff (if you are going to have it)
    -You can be thinking about your classroom management style and getting things ready for that
    -Mostly, I did the crafty stuff and the stuff I could make at home first, at least until I got into my classroom.

Congratulations on your position!

5. luv2teach444

luv2teach444 Companion

Jun 18, 2015