I Don't Know what I'm DOING!!!!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by scared, Jul 26, 2010.

1. scared

scared New Member

Jul 26, 2010

I worked as a Social Worker in my district and they are realllly short on teachers. I have been interested in teaching and They convinced me to sign up with an alternative certification program and within two weeks passed my TExES exam and was hired as a third grade teacher. I have NO experience as a teacher, not even student teaching. I need help. I'm sure I will learn a lot in my training but I would like to get the ball rolling as I only have 4 weeks. So, a few questions:

1) How do you start from scratch not knowing anything about teaching and lesson plans? Do the schools provide a format with what you need to teach or do teachers have free reign over what they teach and when as long as it coincides with the TEKS?

2) Tips on organization once I do get started.

3) OMG what am I doing I'm insane!?!?! I know I can ask the school any of this but I kindof want to put on that I know more than I really do. I don't want them to regret their decision.

3. JaimeMarie

JaimeMarie Moderator

Jul 26, 2010

One step at a time. Get used to the idea of being a teacher. Then start the planning. We can all help out with that part.

4. teach1st

teach1st Comrade

Jul 26, 2010

We will be here to help you through. First, look through your curriculum and your state standards. Firgure out what you need to teach first. Then think about your room arrangement and how you want your class to run day to day. Try and get as much organized as you can without overwhelming yourself. Make a list as the year goes on. Things that worked and things that need changed. If you have to change it right then, do it. But if it can wait, then wait. Focus on one thing at a time and you will be fine. MAKE LOTS OF LISTS! This helped me tremendously. Good Luck and have fun!

5. UVAgrl928

UVAgrl928 Habitué

Jul 26, 2010